Should i buy AVR from USA ?

TheMost

My friend from USA just wanted to gift me something when he comes to INDIA.
I have a SONY w850 47" TV and a HTPC.
I thought of asking an AVR since i am going to buy Paradigm 100CT or something like that (because of limited space) on march 2015.

After some 4or5 years i would like to add Two floor standers or buy an amp and add the floor standers separately
My usage will be like Music more than 50% and movies something like 30-40%.

I would like to know whether i can service the AVR in chennai if it runs into some problem.
What AVR should i tell him to buy?
I would be more happy if there was some stereo mode in the AVR so that i can enjoy pure music when i add 2 floor standers later on.
If that is not possible i will buy a seperate amp for music on the the years to come.
I would like to have uncompromised music performance(i am not tight on budget )
This is my first setup and I am a noob in these things.
So please help me

Thank you !

Last edited:
My friend from USA just wanted to gift me something when he comes to INDIA.
I have a SONY w850 47" TV and a HTPC.
I thought of asking an AVR since i am going to buy Paradigm 100CT or something like that (because of limited space) on march 2015.

After some 4or5 years i would like to add Two floor standers or buy an amp and add the floor standers separately
My usage will be like Music more than 50% and movies something like 30-40%.

I would like to know whether i can service the AVR in chennai if it runs into some problem.
What AVR should i tell him to buy?
I would be more happy if there was some stereo mode in the AVR so that i can enjoy pure music when i add 2 floor standers later on.
If that is not possible i will buy a seperate amp for music on the the years to come.
I would like to have uncompromised music performance(i am not tight on budget )
This is my first setup and I am a noob in these things.
So please help me

Thank you !