what did you do last year, what are you planning this year.

doors666

Just wanted to share with you guys what all I did last year and the future plans for this year. I was a total newbie with diy at the beginning of last year. My only experience was a sub and I wanted to make some speakers as thats the fastest way to sonic nirvana.

Alpair 7 - That was my first project, for my desktop system I wanted a full range speakers as these are easy to make, even easier than subs as all I needed was the drivers and binding posts. I just made a simple cabinet sealed around 6L in volume. Later I added some damping and stuffing materials. Driving these with topping tp20, I liked the amp in the beginning but now I am quite bored of it and want to make something better, but thats for later. I was very happy with the sound quality of the speakers, the vocals, tonality of the instruments, soundstage is great with these. These are not your general purpose speakers. Where these excel, they beat most of the other speakers, but not for all genres. Good for vocals, light music, jazz, blues, light classical etc. Not very good for complicated music where there are a lot of instruments playing at the same time. Sucks with bad sources, mp3 etc. You definitely need another pair of speakers to go with these.

Overnight sensations:
These are my first 2way speakers. Real cheap, good quality. General purpose speakers. I had almost stopped listening to rock, metal etc when I only had alpairs till I got the OS. These do good with most of the music genres. Good bass for such a small speakers (4.5L ported). I use it on my terrace also with the topping as these are small and almost portable. In the long run, you will need a sub with these. With a sub, these can handle about 20w. oh and these do well even with my ipod as source, or with 128kbps mp3s.

Continuums: