Why Soundbar quality is not par with AVR/Amp + Speakers build? Is it Amp or Speakers in Soundbar culprit?

swamytk

Pretty much title says everything. Why Soundbar quality is not par with AVR/Amp + Speakers build (due respect to exceptions)? Is it Amp or Speakers in Soundbar culprit? I am planning to phase out my Philips HTL2163B/12 Soundbar. I would like to dissect it for the sake of tinkering. Understanding weak point of Soundbar internal is important to improve the same. Your opinion will be helpful in this context.

Simplest answer: physics.

As someone who's owned both soundbars (JBL Bar 5.1, Polk Magnifi, Vizio) and full Atmos/stereo setups in the past three years, I have some experience.

Physics because:
1. Driver size. Conventional surround systems have much much larger drivers (at least 4", mostly 5.25-6") than soundbars (1-2" typically). This reflects in poor dynamics, clarity and obviously inferior "feel" of sound.
2. Soundstage. Cramming all your speakers into a 3-4ft space means that a soundbar can't come close to the separation and sound stage of a conventional stereo setup, forget a surround one.
3. The center channel. Most soundbars (especially budget ones) are 2.1 configurations, not 3.1 as they ought to be. A dedicated center makes a world of difference in vocal clarity.

Those are the most significant differences, IMO.

Are you comparing soundbars to 2.1 or 5.1 systems?
Soundbars claiming surround sound work on reflection off side and rear walls (and ceiling also these days :) ). They work best in small to medium symmetrical rooms.
soundbar.jpg

Are you comparing soundbars to 2.1 or 5.1 systems?
Soundbars claiming surround sound work on reflection off side and rear walls (and ceiling also these days :) ). They work best in small to medium symmetrical rooms.
View attachment 37070