• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Basic question on Amplifiers - Can one use an AVR and a Stereo amp together?

Castle Knight 2 Speakers

Lizard King

Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
66
Points
18
Location
Hyderabad
Yup, they will function during stereo listening as well. The pre-outs for subwoofer are different from that present for the Fronts. If you see below image under preouts there are 4 rca ports - "Bottom 2 for sub 1 & 2" , "top 2 for fronts (red for right front and white for left fronts).

When you get the PA , there will be 2 RCA ports on the same and you can just connect the preouts from your AVR to the Power amp , adjust power amp gain/volume and run audyssey. Then you are good to go.

View attachment 53823
Very nicely explained.
 

fLUX

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
802
Points
93
Location
Bangalore
I have Marantz NR 1509. I have connected it's pre-outs (L &R) to Sony TA F 590 ES integrated amp.

My main speakers are connected directly to the integrated amp. I suspect if the pre-out of this Marantz is weak. The levels are just enough.

1509 have a poor DAC in my experience and I did not want to use it for music at all. I wished if It had a digital out so that I can use Heos for streaming. Not happening. So I have my DAC connected to the integrated amp for music.

I find AVR's in general to be somewhat lacking for music listening( be it a Marantz , Denon , Onkyo or Yamaha) regardless of the DAC being used inside. Enjoyed listening to music on IA and eventually moved to seperates
 

samgurung

Active Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2019
Messages
141
Points
28
Location
Shillong
I find AVR's in general to be somewhat lacking for music listening( be it a Marantz , Denon , Onkyo or Yamaha) regardless of the DAC being used inside. Enjoyed listening to music on IA and eventually moved to seperates
In your opinion will there be a discernible improvement in adding a crown amp to the setup?
 

fLUX

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
802
Points
93
Location
Bangalore

In your opinion will there be a discernible improvement in adding a crown amp to the setup?
Yes there would be a discernible difference, the ELAC demand a decent bit of power. Get a crown xls 1002/1502 from amazon and that should suffice, they have a return option too incase you dont notice any improvement.
 

samgurung

Active Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2019
Messages
141
Points
28
Location
Shillong
Yes there would be a discernible difference, the ELAC demand a decent bit of power. Get a crown xls 1002/1502 from amazon and that should suffice, they have a return option too incase you dont notice any improvement.
The xls 2002 is the same price. So giving that a serious thought!
 

kochumvk

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2015
Messages
19
Points
3
Location
Germany
I find AVR's in general to be somewhat lacking for music listening( be it a Marantz , Denon , Onkyo or Yamaha) regardless of the DAC being used inside. Enjoyed listening to music on IA and eventually moved to seperates
Can't agree more. Receivers run weaker power supplies with a shallow capacitor bank, lacks dynamics big time.
Then the noise and THD are not music grade regardless of the rest.
 

rpmahale

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2016
Messages
942
Points
63
Location
INDIA - Mumbai
I have Marantz NR1608 and l have connected Marantz MM7025 as Power amplifier. Definitely there is improvement in sound quality. Now the high frequencies become more articulated , vocal are little bold and forward with well controlled, tight and agile low end.
 

samgurung

Active Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2019
Messages
141
Points
28
Location
Shillong
I have Marantz NR 1509. I have connected it's pre-outs (L &R) to Sony TA F 590 ES integrated amp.

My main speakers are connected directly to the integrated amp. I suspect if the pre-out of this Marantz is weak. The levels are just enough.

1509 have a poor DAC in my experience and I did not want to use it for music at all. I wished if It had a digital out so that I can use Heos for streaming. Not happening. So I have my DAC connected to the integrated amp for music.
Why cant you stream from the marantz to your IA? With the preouts of the marantz connected to your Sony IA does that not make the marantz just a streaming Preamp in the setup?
 

kochumvk

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2015
Messages
19
Points
3
Location
Germany
Why cant you stream from the marantz to your IA? With the preouts of the marantz connected to your Sony IA does that not make the marantz just a streaming Preamp in the setup?
As I said, the DAC in the Marantz- I think an AK4458 implementation & the pre are no match for the rest of the system.
Sounds anemic and lacks details in comparison to my Pre box S2 Digital.

Using The Marantz only for movies.
 
Top