Cheap amplifier to get started with DIY

ubitoo

Trying to get hands on with audio. Looking for a cheap amplifier (cheap as in ~ INR 5-8K) to experiment with some full-range drivers and 2-way builds. It is okay if it is not branded but would prefer something encased with proper connectors as against raw boards.

If sound signature is really an option in this price range, warm would be the preference.

Thanks! :)

Two best sratystartinging points in my opinion would be @shaan 's peeceebee v4 and @Aniket 's DD amp. Simple yet amazing designs with brilliant performance. The support provided by both is unmatched. Reach out to them and pick your tonic.

MaSh

Thanks!
Are these "noob safe"? I have zero knowledge about electronics that go into an amp and safety measures needed when dealing with raw builds. Therefore the preference for encased ones.

The DIY focus will be on speakers and amps are just needed to drive them.

Thanks!
Are these "noob safe"? I have zero knowledge about electronics that go into an amp and safety measures needed when dealing with raw builds. Therefore the preference for encased ones.

The DIY focus will be on speakers and amps are just needed to drive them.

Hehe, welcome to the club. I am a total Noob too. Having used both these designs, I would suggest you start with DD amp and then if you wish also try the V4. The reason being DD amp has a power supply, heatsinks, speaker protection circuits built-in. So it is a single amp board. You just need to connect it to a Transformer and you are done. V4 needs an additional power supply board and speaker protection boards. Shaan has his own power supply board with speaker protection built it. Both amps come fully populated, V4 can be had unpopulated if you wish to do it yourself.