Excited about PHILIPS AF 834

RMCWS

This forum is becoming very expensive for me. Its not been a year I have joined, and I am getting addicted to AV more and more.

I have bought PHILIPS AF 834 from Shafic. It will be hand delivered to me in the first week of December.

This is my first step (at least directly) in the TT world. I don't really have much idea about TT and think starting with this TT is a good idea.

I want to use this TT with my existing set up of AVR and speakers. How do I connect the TT to the avr. Shafic said to use the aux in of the avr to connect. The TT is coming with ceramic cart and stylus.

Now my question is what should I use to connect the TT to the aux in of the avr. My AVR is Yamaha 373.

I was also told that if I upgrade to 'mag' one, I will be needing a phono amp or a vintage amp. What is the purpose of upgrading to mag?

Please suggest as I am new to it.

And though this is my first TT, I used to listen to my dad's TT almost 20-25 years back. I have recently found an very old rusted record player of Philips. I will soon post about it in some other thread.

Congrats! Though I have not been fortunate enough to communicate with Shafic, but forum members hold high regards to the deserving gentleman.
As the TT currently has a ceramic cart.,the output will be line level, hence you can connect it directly to the aux. input of your amp. You may have to play a little with your amp settings.
Regarding magnetic carts that you have been suggested about; the difference will be like night and day in terms of sound quality-in general. However, since the output of mag. Carts are low, you will need a pre-amp or phono stage between your tt and current amp. If you plan for a vintage amp, then most of them will have an in-built phono to them.