home theater wiring for a new house

snbad

hi,

i recently bought a flat in bangalore, it is still under construction.
the builder asked me if i have any special requirement for wiring.
the first thing that popped in my mind is for home theater,
how can i provision for home theater wiring now, in order to do
that do i have to buy a home theater now itself, or is there any
standard wiring that i can ask the electrician to use, and later
i can hook up any ht system to it, has anyone done this before,
any suggestions are really appreciated.

thanks

The internal wiring of my flat has just been completed. I am no expert but have gone by what has been suggested by knowledgeable members and to the extent of my understanding of their suggestions.

I have made provisions for concealed cabling of my HT System. The actual cables will be pulled through it later after the completion of the flat. The electrical guys run a wire through the pipe which at a later date can be used to pull the AV cables.

The last page of my HT thread where I have put up pictures of the wiring:

http://www.hifivision.com/home-theater/18994-my-proposed-ht-my-living-room-casual-discussion-5.html

This has been covered in many previous threads, so it may be worth going through some of them to get some ideas. Bottom line is that some conduits can be concealed, but there is a risk that the final position of various equipment may change later-it happened to me!

If you have a layout of the room on which you plan to install the HT, we can advise you on what wiring needs to be done. Look at the following options:

1. Wire the whole house of networking. Provide for Ethernet socket in every room.
3. If you are looking at home automation or carrying of AV signals with a centralised server/STB, you have to draw 3x CAT5/6 cables across all rooms.
3. Get a telephone socket installed in every room. They all need to be wired to a central junction box.

Cheers