My Journey of Building a Home Theatre

alsekar

Friends!
As i said in the introduction, i am undertaking a journey of Building a Home theatre by converting one of rooms. I thought, it might be a good idea to share that experience with the forum members thru pics and posts.
I am a newbie to HT and am sure you all will help me to make this journey a pleasant one.:licklips:
Thanks guys!

Theatre At Home

Welcome to the world of private theatre.

So what is the basic plan on your mind?

V.

Re: Theatre At Home

Welcome to the world of private theatre.

So what is the basic plan on your mind?

V.
My budget is approx. 5 lac.
First the room.
Existing dimension height 10', width 13'9", length 14'3",
I read somewhere in the net, that the golden room ratios are important for sound quality.
Out of three ratios suggested i chose 1 ht: 1.14w : 1.39L
Which works out to 9' by 10'3" by 14'3" ideally speaking.
So i thought i will create a 18" floor to ceiling wall to wall storage rack of 18" depth to reduce the width to 10' 3". Height, of course, can be reduced to 9' by going for false roof which will help hiding all the wiring.
Just doing this will eat away 1.5 to 2 lacs from the budget straight away.

Foundation Planning Of A Private Theatre

Please advice that this budget of 5 lac will cover what all things. I think you will have to increase your budget.

With this 14 feet length of the room, can it be increased? In my case my room length was 15 feet, i removed the bathroom and it got a new room length of about 23 feet.

About the golden room ratio santosh and others can throw much better light, if the need be ratios can be repaired to a extent via acoustics and related.