• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Philips 5996 - Region Error

Wharfedale EVO4.1 Bookshelf Speakers

psychotropic

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
2,832
Points
83
Location
Chennai, India
there's something wrong with my Philips DVD player, on some discs it shows a region error.....these are all region coded for India, original DVDs bought or rented from bigflix.....it's damn irritating, anyone experienced this problem before? any workarounds or solutions?
 

suprateep

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
1,103
Points
0
Location
Chicago
there's something wrong with my Philips DVD player, on some discs it shows a region error.....these are all region coded for India, original DVDs bought or rented from bigflix.....it's damn irritating, anyone experienced this problem before? any workarounds or solutions?

hello !!! Not all DVDs from bigflix are regiod coded for India. I have seen quite a few DVDs in NTSC region 1, 3, 2 etc and I have been using the service for a little over 2 months now. I use a HTPC so - everything plays unless the disc is scratched beyond repair. Sometimes the old paste thing does not work too.
 

psychotropic

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
2,832
Points
83
Location
Chennai, India
okay but one of them is an Indian DVD of Unbreakable that used to work perfectly on my Sony NS708, actually the SOny NS708 has never refused to play ANY disc.....this Philips has already done that with 3....

hello !!! Not all DVDs from bigflix are regiod coded for India. I have seen quite a few DVDs in NTSC region 1, 3, 2 etc and I have been using the service for a little over 2 months now. I use a HTPC so - everything plays unless the disc is scratched beyond repair. Sometimes the old paste thing does not work too.
 

jai1611

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2009
Messages
1,552
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
The Philips 5996 sold in India is with the wrong region code. I'd bought mine from Ezone and they made it region free for me when I discovered it didnt play Indian discs. Its a straightforward process.
 

suprateep

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
1,103
Points
0
Location
Chicago
okay but one of them is an Indian DVD of Unbreakable that used to work perfectly on my Sony NS708, actually the SOny NS708 has never refused to play ANY disc.....this Philips has already done that with 3....

bhai just ask the place where you got it from, for the code for region hack....or google it. It will play 99% of disks (region coding wont matter)
 

hemantwaghe

Banned
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
4,139
Points
0
known issue
just oogle it -you'll find a remote hack....
same issue my bro had and a friend ....and sorted!!
 

psychotropic

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
2,832
Points
83
Location
Chennai, India
hey jai, did you have to take it back to e-zone?

The Philips 5996 sold in India is with the wrong region code. I'd bought mine from Ezone and they made it region free for me when I discovered it didnt play Indian discs. Its a straightforward process.
 

jai1611

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2009
Messages
1,552
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
I took it back to them because the shop is practically next to my house. In retrospect, the problem could've been dealt with on the phone as well.
 
Top