PV8 / 80 Service Menu for Usage Time

Wharfedale EVO4.4 Speaker

madbullram

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2008
Messages
2,027
Points
113
Location
Chennai, India
After long search, found the way to find the usage time of my PV8.

Knowing the total time the TV was used helps in 2 things:
1. When the set is delivered we can check if its a DEMO piece bcos the usage time will be more (hours of usage).
2. Will help us determine accurately if the run-in period is over

BEFORE I STATE, PLS BE AWARE SERVICE MENU OPTIONS ARE SENSITIVE AND FOR PROFESSIONAL TO PLAY WITH. DO THIS EXACTLY AS LISTED AND PLS PLS PLS DONT PLAY WITH OTHER OPTIONS AS IT WILL VOID YOUR WARRANTY AND ALSO SCREW YOUR TV.


To find the total usage:
IMP: DONT USE THE VOL BUTTON ON THE REMOTE

1. Hold down the {VOL -} button ON THE PLASMA. (Dont worry about what happens on the TV)

2. Press the {INFO} button on the remote control 3 times. This button is located to the left of {0} button the remote.

The Service Menu will be displayed with the following menus:
ADJUST
WD-ADJUST
OPTION
AGING (Red Screen)
RM-SET
SRV-TOOL

We are interested in SRV-TOOL. The {1} & {2} buttons move through menus.

4. Press the {2} button once or press the {1} button six times to select "SRV-TOOL".

5. Then press the {OK} button to access it.

6. Using the cursor keys, highlight the empty box on the right side of the last option (box): PTCT :00.00.00.00.00

7. Then press and hold the {MUTE} button for 3 seconds.

Time and Count will be displayed in red color. Mine showed 000000330:30 441. It means my TV was on for 330 hrs and 30 mins and was switched on 441 times till now.

8. Press the {off} button the plasma for 10 secs and release it.

Switch on and enjoy.


DISCLAIMER: At your ownnnnnn risk mate :D
 
Last edited:

adi450

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
9
Points
0
Location
pune
hey outstandingly helpfull tip...

can u tel same about samy a450 mine is comin 2day..

thanx
 

suprateep

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
1,097
Points
0
Location
Chicago
After long search, found the way to find the usage time of my PV8.

Knowing the total time the TV was used helps in 2 things:
1. When the set is delivered we can check if its a DEMO piece bcos the usage time will be more (hours of usage).
2. Will help us determine accurately if the run-in period is over

BEFORE I STATE, PLS BE AWARE SERVICE MENU OPTIONS ARE SENSITIVE AND FOR PROFESSIONAL TO PLAY WITH. DO THIS EXACTLY AS LISTED AND PLS PLS PLS DONT PLAY WITH OTHER OPTIONS AS IT WILL VOID YOUR WARRANTY AND ALSO SCREW YOUR TV.


To find the total usage:
IMP: DONT USE THE VOL BUTTON ON THE REMOTE

1. Hold down the {VOL -} button ON THE PLASMA. (Dont worry about what happens on the TV)

2. Press the {INFO} button on the remote control 3 times. This button is located to the left of {0} button the remote.

The Service Menu will be displayed with the following menus:
ADJUST
WD-ADJUST
OPTION
AGING (Red Screen)
RM-SET
SRV-TOOL

We are interested in SRV-TOOL. The {1} & {2} buttons move through menus.

4. Press the {2} button once or press the {1} button six times to select "SRV-TOOL".

5. Then press the {OK} button to access it.

6. Using the cursor keys, highlight the empty box on the right side of the last option (box): PTCT :00.00.00.00.00

7. Then press and hold the {MUTE} button for 3 seconds.

Time and Count will be displayed in red color. Mine showed 000000330:30 441. It means my TV was on for 330 hrs and 30 mins and was switched on 441 times till now.

8. Press the {off} button the plasma for 10 secs and release it.

Switch on and enjoy.


DISCLAIMER: At your ownnnnnn risk mate :D


boss my pv8 has a button called recall (left of the 0 button) and pushing it does not help. Any other suggestions?
 

madbullram

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2008
Messages
2,027
Points
113
Location
Chennai, India
boss my pv8 has a button called recall (left of the 0 button) and pushing it does not help. Any other suggestions?

You need to press the Vol button and the Recall button together. Try it, it works on all PV8 may be you aint doing it in the right sequence.
 

Shuvc

Active Member
Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
316
Points
28
Location
Calcutta
Thanks. Worked like a charm.
I was a bit confused with the last step. Is it the power switch on the tv or the power button on the remote.
Went ahead with the tv switch. Worked fine.
 

suprateep

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
1,097
Points
0
Location
Chicago
well it finally did - I was not pushing them together.

anyway my plasma showed 286 hours and that it had been switched on for like 88 times. looks reasonable as it has been 10 days old and i have been using it extensively for that time.

panny rocks
 

Shuvc

Active Member
Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
316
Points
28
Location
Calcutta
anyway my plasma showed 286 hours and that it had been switched on for like 88 times. looks reasonable as it has been 10 days old and i have been using it extensively for that time.
Well, that averages out to 28 hrs per day :)
Considering 16 hours of usage per day (8 for sleeping!), it should be max 160hours.
My set has clocked 197 hours in 30 days, which matches with my avg 5-6hrs per day usage.
 

dasher85

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
63
Points
0
Location
pune
After long search, found the way to find the usage time of my PV8.

Knowing the total time the TV was used helps in 2 things:
1. When the set is delivered we can check if its a DEMO piece bcos the usage time will be more (hours of usage).
2. Will help us determine accurately if the run-in period is over

BEFORE I STATE, PLS BE AWARE SERVICE MENU OPTIONS ARE SENSITIVE AND FOR PROFESSIONAL TO PLAY WITH. DO THIS EXACTLY AS LISTED AND PLS PLS PLS DONT PLAY WITH OTHER OPTIONS AS IT WILL VOID YOUR WARRANTY AND ALSO SCREW YOUR TV.


To find the total usage:
IMP: DONT USE THE VOL BUTTON ON THE REMOTE

1. Hold down the {VOL -} button ON THE PLASMA. (Dont worry about what happens on the TV)

2. Press the {INFO} button on the remote control 3 times. This button is located to the left of {0} button the remote.

The Service Menu will be displayed with the following menus:
ADJUST
WD-ADJUST
OPTION
AGING (Red Screen)
RM-SET
SRV-TOOL

We are interested in SRV-TOOL. The {1} & {2} buttons move through menus.

4. Press the {2} button once or press the {1} button six times to select "SRV-TOOL".

5. Then press the {OK} button to access it.

6. Using the cursor keys, highlight the empty box on the right side of the last option (box): PTCT :00.00.00.00.00

7. Then press and hold the {MUTE} button for 3 seconds.

Time and Count will be displayed in red color. Mine showed 000000330:30 441. It means my TV was on for 330 hrs and 30 mins and was switched on 441 times till now.

8. Press the {off} button the plasma for 10 secs and release it.

Switch on and enjoy.


DISCLAIMER: At your ownnnnnn risk mate :D


hey mate.. mine remained constant i.e.: PTCT:00.00.000.000.00
:sad:
 

suprateep

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
1,097
Points
0
Location
Chicago
Well, that averages out to 28 hrs per day :)
Considering 16 hours of usage per day (8 for sleeping!), it should be max 160hours.
My set has clocked 197 hours in 30 days, which matches with my avg 5-6hrs per day usage.

but the problem is all pannys i tried (vijay sales guys were astonished) in the showroom i.e. demo pieces has usage times over 400-500 hrs. And I guess for 12 days 288 hours are not bad considering my tv stays on for 10-15 hrs at a stretch. And i guess most plasmas and even LCDs are tested for 40-50 hrs atleast for manufacturing defects at the manufacturer site. My friend works for a Indian company that got into the LCD market recently and he told me that all LCDs (strange for Indian manufacturers) are tested for 80-100 hrs before packing and release to the showrooms.

And there is actually no proper way to burn a plasma or a LCD (other than not playing it on vivid for a long duration). I have been watching the TV on Cinema mode only and it maybe my perception but the picture has turned sharper over the last week or so. It is supported by my wife too - and games and sports look so much better.

Not to mention the LOTR trilogy blew me away - the panny and the combination of Onkyo 606 i.e.

I would have loved the usage under 100 hrs when i bought the plasma but i am not complaining.:clapping:
 

smnrock

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
70
Points
8
Location
blr
I would have loved the usage under 100 hrs when i bought the plasma but i am not complaining.
When i've checked my pv80 after 2 days from the date of purchase, it was showed 16 hrs :)

And i guess most plasmas and even LCDs are tested for 40-50 hrs atleast for manufacturing defects at the manufacturer site. My friend works for a Indian company that got into the LCD market recently and he told me that all LCDs (strange for Indian manufacturers) are tested for 80-100 hrs before packing and release to the showrooms.
Is that much bad their QA policy?
 

Shuvc

Active Member
Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
316
Points
28
Location
Calcutta
but the problem is all pannys i tried (vijay sales guys were astonished) in the showroom
You mean they are not aware of this service menu? :lol:

Have they now learnt it from you?


@madbullram - would the same sequence work on a PV7/70? Any idea?
 

suprateep

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
1,097
Points
0
Location
Chicago
You mean they are not aware of this service menu? :lol:

Have they now learnt it from you?


@madbullram - would the same sequence work on a PV7/70? Any idea?

bhai this is not the first time i have come across morons in a showroom - they were pressing for the LG61 (don't remember the exact model number) - 42'' plasma for 44k too. Luckily i was wiser.
 

dasher85

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
63
Points
0
Location
pune
finally it worked!!!!!!!:)

i was pressing mute on ptct:00.00.00.00instead of that i was supposed to highlight right side blank bracket opposit of ptct.. and i did it and timing was
after 10 days,
18:43 51 clicks :yahoo:


thanx a lot mate,,,
 
Last edited:

jreddy420

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
7
Points
0
Location
Bangalore
This is a very useful post. I used this to find out the usage time on my new 32LX800 that I bought yest and found that the guys sold me a demo piece. :mad: I went to them today morning and they assured me on delivering a new set.
 

madbullram

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2008
Messages
2,027
Points
113
Location
Chennai, India
This is a very useful post. I used this to find out the usage time on my new 32LX800 that I bought yest and found that the guys sold me a demo piece. :mad: I went to them today morning and they assured me on delivering a new set.

Excellent, this is the main reason I posted this info so that these dealers cant cheat us.:clapping:
 
Top