TECHNICS DIRECT DRIVE TT MODEL SL D-21 Reviews needed

mstillalive

Hello all,

I am a complete noob to the TT world and was wondering if someone could help me understand how good is the TECHNICS DIRECT DRIVE TT MODEL SL D-21 as a Turntable. I see one listed under the classifieds and any thoughts/opinions will be much appreciated. Also, what are the upgrade possibilities available ?

Cheers
~m

Hello all,

I am a complete noob to the TT world and was wondering if someone could help me understand how good is the TECHNICS DIRECT DRIVE TT MODEL SL D-21 as a Turntable. I see one listed under the classifieds and any thoughts/opinions will be much appreciated. Also, what are the upgrade possibilities available ?

Cheers
~m
Technics TTs are always considered good and they are better than modern day plasticky turn tables. Upgrades you can always do with the cartridges.

Here are the tech specs:

Technics SL-D21 Manual - Fully-Automatic Direct-Drive Turntable System - Vinyl Engine

Specifications:
Type: semi automatic
Drive method: direct drive
Motor: brushless DC servo
Drive control: FG servo control
Platter: 312mm aluminium die-cast
Speeds: 33 and 45rpm
Wow and flutter: 0.025% WRMS
Rumble: -78dB
Tonearm type: straight, static balanced with plug-in connector
Effective length: 230mm
Overhang: 15mm
Dimensions: 430 x 110 x 375mm
Weight: 4.4kg

However, no personal experience with this player.

It might not be the right thing to ask for opinions on the open forum about an item put up for sale by a fellow FM. Should someone jeopardise the sale by a negative view? Or conversely, praise it to the skies ? You're really on your own in such matters - with Google as your best guide.