The "Room Acoustics" thread

santhosh

We are seeing that more and more members are considering a dedicated room for A/V or even make some acoustic tweaks to their drawing room. So thought we can have a dedicated thread for this. If you have a question on Room Acoustics, post them here and members knowledgable in this will try and answer your queries. We even have a Sound Engineer on our forum, am sure he'll be happy to add his inputs here.

We have a lot of knowledge and discussion on the topic that are spread across so many threads. Would be good to have a single consolidated thread for questions in addition to all the interesting threads where members have documented their Home Theater build.

Good thread,

Now please explain me the difference in the feel of a 5:1 set-up and a 7:1 setup.:sad:

I am a novice into this part of the world. will it be expensive to have a 7:1 set-up compared to the latter.:sad:

@All Members, I request you not to dilute this thread with other questions which are not related to acoustics. Please stick to the purpose of this thread.

Great, this is indeed a very good idea !!!!

The cross-flow of information would essentially be useful to all.

My first contribution to this thread - unfortunately in the form of a question:eek:.
What are the methods of preventing sound leakage from doors and windows of HT or media rooms? I have seen rubber seals (similar to ones used on car doors) that can be placed at the gaps of door and window sills in the US in places like home depot etc, but am not able find them here. Note these are for HT's that used carpenter fabricated doors and windows as opposed the better method of using pre fab doors or windows (like fennesta).
Cheers,
Sid