What kind of XLR Cable I would need

Vivek Batra

Dear FMs

Please excuse me if this is a stupid question but being a newbie my knowledge in hi fi is still very limited. I am soon going to buy some equipment and want to use XLR interconnects between DAC to Amp and SACD to Amp. I am sharing some pictures from the shortlisted models (all from Luxman).

My confusion is, on the amplifier, there are two balanced inputs Line 1 and Line 2 and one connector each for left and right channel in total 4 XLR connectors. But on the DAC and the SACD player there is only one XLR output connector for left and right channel. What does it mean ? or I am completely wrong here?

With my very little knowledge I know that, balanced interconnects are good at noise cancellation and better than RCA only when all the equipment are balanced as well.

Hope this makes sense.

Integrated Amp : L-590 AX II
DAC : DA-250
SACD : D-05u (As per Specs fully balanced circuit)

Thanks
Vivek

Attachments

• SACD.png
    SACD.png
    477.3 KB · Views: 22
  • DAC.png
    DAC.png
    305.1 KB · Views: 25
  • Amp.png
    Amp.png
    746.6 KB · Views: 24
The connectors on the DAC and SACD player are outputs and the connectors on the amp are inputs. You can connect the sacd and dac to the amp., and choose which one you want to play with a source selector knob.
Cheers,
Sid

The connectors on the DAC and SACD player are outputs and the connectors on the amp are inputs. You can connect the sacd and dac to the amp., and choose which one you want to play with a source selector knob.
Cheers,
Sid
Thanks for some enlightenment :) . So in this case the XLR cable should be like one connector on the output side and two connectors at the input side? Something like stereo to RCA cable?

Thanks for some enlightenment :) . So in this case the XLR cable should be like one connector on the output side and two connectors at the input side? Something like stereo to RCA cable?
Not really, left and right separate.