Willsenton R8 - Much needed Glow in Life

amrutmhatre90

Just when I decided I am done with my stereo setup I ended up buying a Willsenton R8!

To give some background, few months back I wanted a All in one unit to go with my Lintons which were paired with Audiolab 6000a.

I just wanted to see what would more power do to my Lintons, (I absolutely love them) I replaced 6000a with 7000a, I was happy the way they opened up. It was not a night and day difference but a good one.

Fast forward to week back, I got a nice deal on Willsenton R8 and I went for it. This was on my list since long and wanted to own them, I have seen what kind magic @yogibear does with Tubes. But wanted to try R8 before going SET.

There were not much reviews or ownership experiences on our forum, so decided to pin one.

Bought it in stock form, I know people will say stock tubes are schiit, but I needed a benchmark or how big differences does tube rolling make. I am new to tube world you see.
IMG_3150_jpg.jpeg
This thing is heavy, very heavy as most of the weight is in those massive transformers and its difficult to lift due to uneven weight distribution.
Comes with a nice cover to protect the tubes.

Since 7000a as a pre is neutral’s as it can be with an excellent dac and phono, I use Audiolab 7000a as a Pre most of the time, and the Pre In on R8 just disconnects the volume pot I assume and not the pre amp section.

So chain tested are,
1) WiiM pro / Mini PC > Audiolab 7000a via Usb or Coax > R8 > Lintons
2) WiiM Pro > E30 > R8 > Linton

First listening impressions were meh, hard edges and not smooth like what was I expecting. But heard these need 50-100 hours burn in to sound best. While posting this thread, I am at 20hr mark and I can already see this getting better day by day.