home theater with pc or Use of av receiver

jeevanreddy58

Hi Friends,

i am new to this..
i have pc and i would like to connect very good 5.1 to my PC.

do i really need av receiver for my pc use.. bcaz i listen/watch songs/movies using PC.. to get the good quality out of my pc as well as speakers , what should i do? ( Sound card , amplifier , speakers 5.1 ) Budget would be around 40 thousand indian rupees( i already have the PC)

Thanks in advance
-- Jeevan | Hyderabad

To connect to PC, different multimedia 5.1 computer speaks are there, like from logitech, which have inbuild amp.

AVR is used when you want to connect separate set of speakers to make complete 5.1 OR if you plan to connect an HTiB via your computer. Plus you usually have 3,4 different sources that you want to use with your HT speakers.

Different need different approch.

Thank you.. given info is useful..

and you have given software settings to get hd audio,,

but how can i improve my audio experiance from PC..

1)Any particular sound card you prefer?
2) i don't know how well 5.1 company speakers set perform when compared to hybrid 5.1 speakers. do you have any idea how it will be if i use subwoofer from one brand , speakers from 1 brand.. so on..

Thanks in advance,
--Jeevan

I have D2X card.Its good for movies.Still I prefer a dedicated HT setup.With AVR,you get more settings.If budget permits,go for AVR + speakers.

But i would like use it for pc... i don;t think that we can use av r with pc.. what do you say?
I have been using PC(HTPC)for long time.If AVR has good DA converter,it will sound better.Even for movies,AVR processing will be better and easier.

right,Hook it up through the HDMI out from PC. I have a HTPC, Cable STB and a bluray player hooked up through my AVR. thanks
w24mVL

hi sandy,

i am not looking for Blu ray's as i do not use dvd player.. i will download the BRRIPS in PC...
so if possible can you give me the details of sound card , amplifier and 5.1 speakers for my PC..