Shure M97XE

tek

Hey guys.

I am currently using an Orfofon 2M Red on a Technics SL-D2. I've been using it for bout 2 years now, and not had any complaints. But I think it might be a good idea to invest in another cart.

I am in the states at the moment and I found a sealed box pack Shure M97XE selling for $85 (appox Rs 4000). Is that a good deal? Should I pick it up and maybe put it on a diff headhshell and swap the carts whenever? Is it safe to do that or do you have to align it each time? If you think I should pick it up, let me know soon since i'm only here for another 2 days... i've heard good things about it..
Thanks!

its a pretty good cart and the price you're getting it for, is pretty good too. it usually retails for about $120. with regard to the performance, it is a relatively low output cart but quality is excellent (matches the NAD 1020A input perfectly)...sounds very warm and is ideally suited for listening to blues, western classical or pop...if you want punch with your music (required for listening to classic and modern rock), you'd probably want to go with the M44-7 (which is a domestic cart adapted for DJ work these days due to its robust tracking ability)

The M 97xE is s very good cart in its price band.

It will go well with your technics tonearm quite beautifully. However, I feel you should buy this from the India dealer. He sits in mumbai. One can easily procure it for about Rs. 4500 from there. Plus if there is any defect he will replace it. Just my two bits...

Hi
can u give the the location of a cart/stylus dealer in mumbai
Tks
wlg

i used to have the phone number on me... but now i don't. but JLS on this forum has the exact details. will get him to post it here.

Speak to Jerry 9820901941 of Electronic Emporium, off Lamington Road. They usually don't carry stock but can get it in a one-two days. I paid around 4.5K recently. They also have M44-7 cart and stylus.
Joshua