Upgrading from a computer 2.1, what should I buy?

narak

Just made this account! I've intermittently read on hifivision but never posted anything. So hi! Also, thanks in advance! I'm completely new to this so I'll layout as much information as I can. Never built an HT before.

I've been using the Altec Lansing MX5021(that I bought for my computer 10 years back) with my TV for a while now. Most of the times, it is just fine. But every time there is dialogue(esp with a lot of reverb like in stage shows) the dialogue becomes incredibly muddled and I have to fiddle with the volume constantly. So I've given up and I'm looking for an upgrade, the 5021s can go back to my computer.

My budget is 70k but its fairly flexible and I don't mind stretching it quite a bit if it means a system that'll last me longer. I want to buy something that lasts me for a long time and possibly something I can upgrade overtime, a piece at a time.

I listen to some music but its mostly used for the PS4, Netflix, Prime and Chromecast. But the idea of a bluetooth AVR is cool, and I'd listen to music on it if it were convenient.

I have an old 50" Micromax TV, which doesn't have HDMI ARC, so that's one restriction. Don't think I'm upgrading anytime soon.

Also, I rent, so wiring constraints. Though I'm not beyond cello-taping wires across the ceiling if its worth it. But wireless speakers, soundbars, or a better 2.1 might be more convenient.

Last edited:
AVR and speakers/sub is the way to go if you are certain that the listening space is yours to play with.
If renting/moving, soundbars or all-in-ones are convenient.
Check offerings from companies like Definitive Technology, KEF, BlueSound, Cambridge Audio, etc for active systems.

Cheers,
Raghu