• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

How to use AVR bought in Japan in India

johnsnow

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2017
Messages
2
Likes
0
Points
0
Location
Ludhiana
#1
Hi

I bought a Yamaha RXV-581 while on an office trip to Japan recently. I was aware of the voltage difference but thought it was 110V (same as that of US).
But after coming back to India saw the backpanel and it reads 100V. Now the problem is that I am not able to find any 220V-100V step down transformer.
I would like to know if it is possible to use the AVR in India somehow.

PS: I found a very old thread in hifivision regarding the same issue, but it was not clear whether the OP was able to solve the problem.

Thanks
 
SPONSORED ADS

SPONSORED ADS

Joined
Apr 22, 2015
Messages
81
Likes
8
Points
8
Location
IN
#3
Go for good inverter technician, he can solve your problem

Sent from my Le X526 using Tapatalk
 

mshifi

Active Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
578
Likes
152
Points
43
Location
hyderabad
#5
step down transformers are available. You will have to enquire. I had purchased one way back in 2000 when i got my first yamaha avr frm US.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2016
Messages
37
Likes
20
Points
8
Location
Bangalore
#7
Hi

I bought a Yamaha RXV-581 while on an office trip to Japan recently. I was aware of the voltage difference but thought it was 110V (same as that of US).
But after coming back to India saw the backpanel and it reads 100V. Now the problem is that I am not able to find any 220V-100V step down transformer.
I would like to know if it is possible to use the AVR in India somehow.

PS: I found a very old thread in hifivision regarding the same issue, but it was not clear whether the OP was able to solve the problem.

Thanks
Another option is you can speak to Yamaha Service Center guys to replace power supply unit of the receiver from 100v to 220v.

Thanks,
Sujit
 

wlg

Active Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
348
Likes
95
Points
28
Location
mumbai
#8
Bought a National FM Radiocassette from Japan 1975, besides the voltage the FM spectrum was not compatable.
 

celester340

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,355
Likes
472
Points
83
Location
Mumbai
#10
I have a technics turntable from Japan that runs on 100v.

Speak to mr shah from shah electronics chennai. His products are called Maxine. He will ship to u anywhere. Been using it for a year with no issues. Excellent quality. Just google shah electronics / Maxine. Problem solved. He will make it for you for your specifications. No issues at all.
 
SPONSORED ADS
Last edited:

wlg

Active Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
348
Likes
95
Points
28
Location
mumbai
#11
I have a Technics TT SL-BD20D from USA, 110v I got the transformer rewound for 240V to 10V works perfectly
 
SPONSORED ADS

Top