LG 47LA6910 Review

Narasimhan_M

Friends,
I have been using a Samsung Sonama 32 LCD for more than 6 years and quite recently the age of this TV started showing up. The LCD panel started forming bubbles and gradually it increased to almost 40% of the entire screen. Also the viewing angles were getting pretty bad. Logged a compliant with Samsung to see the possibility to repair the set.
A technician promptly visited and inspected the TV and the issues I reported. He made few calls to the service center and gave me a quote for the repair. It was 22,000 and the panel to be replaced. This started my hunt for a new TV.
For more than 4 years I have been dreaming to own a big TV and thought this would be the ideal time. Read reviews on Sony W800/850, Samsung 3D Series and LG 3D. There was a LG showroom near to my place so took my family along to check the models.
I was totally drooled over by the LA6910 model by its looks, feature set, picture and 3D quality. Checked HD, SD and 3D content and all was pretty good.

Here are the events which followed

13-Oct -> Visited the showroom along with my family to look at the TV models. Demo'd a 3D sample and was soon drooling over. Finalized on 6910 and discussed the payment options.

14-Oct -> Made the payment and the delivery was promised on 15-Oct.

15-Oct -> The Set was delivered around 2 PM. I did not a require a wall mount so the stand was hooked up and it was switched on. While going through the setup(luckily it was on a white background), I noticed 2 dark spots on the set. The technician acknowledged it and said would get back by EOD. No calls after that.

16-Oct -> I fiddled with the menus and found the usage hours. To my shock it was showing 556 Hours. Immediately called LG and lodged a complaint. Spoke with the dealer and he promptly suggested a replacement TV within 2 days. Though disappointing I still had some hope.