Saw the LG50PK550 and was disappointed

deepakvrao

Looked a bit washed out compared to adjacent LCDs [I know that thats the way Plasma looks besides LCDS but still], though the colours did look more 'natural'.

However my question is - the SD dish [Airtel] that was being played was so crappy looking, is it that HD TVs will look good only with HD content? Otherwise it would seem to almost magnify the poor quality of regular TV and looks actually worse at 50" compared to say 32".

If so, why do people buy the big screen? Is it almost always that they are playing Blueray content?

I'm a newbie here so really would like some help. Looking for a TV for my Dad, but he watches Tata Sky mostly and occasional DVDs, so would it be a mistake to go for a 50"?

tata sky looks very good on a 29" incher crt - that's the largest TV I have at home. It's not a bad option if SD content is what you want to watch.
I liked tata sky on my 720 projector too somehow. Thinking of getting it back on proj for the football world cup, to host some get togethers around the matches.

Last edited:
Looked a bit washed out compared to adjacent LCDs [I know that thats the way Plasma looks besides LCDS but still], though the colours did look more 'natural'.

However my question is - the SD dish [Airtel] that was being played was so crappy looking, is it that HD TVs will look good only with HD content? Otherwise it would seem to almost magnify the poor quality of regular TV and looks actually worse at 50" compared to say 32".

If so, why do people buy the big screen? Is it almost always that they are playing Blueray content?

I'm a newbie here so really would like some help. Looking for a TV for my Dad, but he watches Tata Sky mostly and occasional DVDs, so would it be a mistake to go for a 50"?