Next year, I will be moving to my own home. What kind of home theatre can I setup in the space that I have?

Jagadeeshr

Two available locations: living room or spare room. The living room will be 13 feet wide, 24 feet long , and 10 feet tall. The spare room will be 12 feet wide, 9 feet long, and 10 feet tall.

FP.png

I have zero experience with home theatres, so these are the questions that I have.

I. Location

Which location would be more suitable, living room or spare room?

II. TV size

No matter where I put the TV the max distance between the tv and couch will be between 9 to 13 feet. At this viewing distance, what size would be ideal?

III. Audio

Since I have no experience setting up a home theatre, I would like to start with 2.1 and then expand to 5.1 or 7.1. Initially, can I just buy the receiver, sub-woofer, and 2 speakers. After that add more speakers.

IV. Connecting Speakers to Receiver

How to connect the rear and side speakers to the receiver? These speakers will be far from the receiver, how to run the cable between them? Just running them along the floor doesn't seem ideal.

V. Brands

If I setup a home theatre, I will not be upgrading it for atleast 10 to 15 years. Is it better to go with a big name brand or any alternate brand that offers the same features at a cheaper price?

VI. Changes during House Construction

Is there anything I can include during the house construction to make it easier to setup the home theatre. For Ex: Audio outlets in the wall to connect speakers, size and location of windows/doors, etc.

I would choose the spare room. You can even install a projector for a better view. I think, a 100 inches is doable.

HI

i prefer bigger rooms home theatre, it gives you excellent imaging
myself building room for Audio & home theatre 17' x 25' room

tky

I would choose the spare room. You can even install a projector for a better view. I think, a 100 inches is doable.