Budget active subwoofer for Yamaha YHT-196 system.

curious

Friends,

I've Yamaha YHT-196 home theater system which comes with HTR-2064 AV receiver and a passive subwoofer. I use it to listen to mp3 hindi (mostly 70's and 80's) songs, FM stations and HD channels (Star Movies, Movies Now etc) on airtel DTH. The room size is 16ft X 16 ft.

I'm overall satisfied with the system. Only thing is I think that the bass is not as deep, strong and tight as it should be. May be because of the passive sub? I'm thinking of buying an active subwoofer.

Please suggest me some budget active subwoofers that can be used with this system. Also please suggest me ways to improve bass performance of the system. Please don't ask me to replace all speakers :eek:hyeah:

What is your budget? Sonodyne Roar series has got good reviews in this forum. There is Polk PSW110 also priced around 12K I think.

Thanks again friend. I think, I'll have to stretch my budget more.

Friends, I'm not an expert in this field. So please bear with me if my questions sound naive. Will having a good sub improve listening experience to that extent? Should I be worried about subwoofer's sound characteristic matching with the rest of the speakers? What can I do with the passive subwoofer that came with YHT-196? Can I have it connected to AVR as well (the AVR has a separate Subwoofer pre-out port for active sub as well) making it two subwoofer system? What effect will this have on the overall performance of the system? Can I make my passive subwoofer active with plate amplifier? If yes, would you advise it and how would it be costwise?

A good sub will definitely enhance the movie experience. Its a very important component of HT. However I cannot say how much difference you can expect since I have not heard the Astonia sub. But I guess the bass will be deeper and heavier than the passive sub, by a reasonable extent.